My first bad review :( Rock Me Slowly by Dawn Sutherland

Rock Me Slowly by Dawn Sutherland

Rock Me Slowly by Dawn Sutherland

Rock Me Slowly by Dawn Sutherland

I don’t like to give bad reviews. Ever. Even if I don’t like a book, I don’t rate it as bad because I know authors put a lot of work into their writing, and maybe someone else will love the book I didn’t. I love rock band books, I enjoy them sometimes.
Having said that…
Sweet Lord this book was horrible. I finished it because of my twisted sense of commitment to fictional characters. It’s sad really because the story actually does have great potential.
The book revolves around Sophie, a girl just graduated whose dream is to become a fashion designer to rock bands. So her best friend calls her and tells her that the up and coming band Buried Alive is looking for a fashion designer. Of course they hired Sophie , no questions asked. ( Rolls eyes)
Sophie meets Josh, Buried Alive’s guitarist and of course, sparks fly, instant love, she doesn’t want to give her heart away but can’t resist him, he has issues, etc.

So far so good. I can work with this, right?
Nope.

Buried Alive , I am convinced that she got her inspiration from Avenged Sevenfold. I would know this because I am an Avenged Sevenfold fan. There were even a few lines stolen from their recorded concerts. ( example: The bassist should bang me like he bangs his bass – This was said in an Avenged Sevenfold concert- Live in LBC) There are a couple of scenes in this book where you can plainly see the lack of originality.

Another thing which irked me to no end. The train wreck that is the spelling and grammar in this book. The amount of times I counted “should of, could of would of ” instead of using have was dumbfounding.
Example : “If I hadn’t of changed I dread to think where I would of ended up by now.”

Some sentences were so bad, I had to re-read a couple of times to make sense of it.
Example: “Josh will come out of this pretty damn well, me on the other hand well this could well destroy my faith in love forever.”
Yeah, it took me a few seconds.

Last, the characters were good, but the main character Sophie was not that well thought out. It seemed she all over the place. A disorganized character , if you will. At times she was trying to be sexy and cool, others she just sounded like a 80-year-old trying to behave like a 40-year-old to catch a man. At times she was immature, at times she rambled on about morals and decency. I never really figured out if she was supposed to be British, I got the impression at the beginning that she was , but I don’t think the writer put a lot of research into British slang and mannerisms. She never came off as British. Josh on the other hand, was a lot more consistent and growing and changing gradually as events unfolded.

I really don’t recommend this book, unless you love rock band books and don’t mind the grammar errors.

Thanks for reading!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. countingducks
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 10:25:59

    AN honest review is a brave thing to do and you should be applauded for it. I know you get no pleasure from not being able to recommend this book, but your last sentence is brilliant anyway, and capped my enjoyment of this post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Larral loves books 

And The Authors That Write Them

Reading Writing and Book Reviews

Get Your Romance Read On

Beaus and Bows

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion, and Bows

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Author Kim Black

Erotic Romance Writer

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

More Than Skin Deep.

Raising Awareness For Self-Harm& Inspiration For Those In Recovery.

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

~Snarky Bloggers~

Just some girls with no brain to mouth filter, spewing their opinions onto the unsuspecting souls who find themselves in their dungeon of sarcasm.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

ellisnelson

children's author

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

