Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

20130820-144846.jpg
I just finished this book called Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, first book in the Lux series. I wanted to review it before losing my thoughts in everything else I have to do today.
First of all, let me give you the summary, which is in the main character’s POV, from which the story is told:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My thoughts:

At first, the book kind of annoyed me a bit. I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not. The story was really good, but the main male character, Daemon, was just so unbelievably stupid, rude and just plain mean. End of. The first chapters are mostly their back and forth fighting and bickering. At some point, it even turned a bit Twilight-ish, which subtracted a star from its rating right away.
As I kept reading, I decided I liked the book because Katy’s POV had never for a second gotten me bored. She is geeky, beautiful, witty and not at all weak. She doesn’t play the damsel-in-distress angsty role that I’ve come to read about in so many novels. She’s not worried about being all prim-n-proper and is very funny.
I also liked how Jennifer L. Armentrout developed her aliens. Making them beings of light and energy , I almost felt a correlation with angels, instead of monster-type technologically advanced things, made it a lot more interesting.
All in all, I recommend this book mostly to anyone who likes paranormal reads, as I think its kind of refreshing. I am genuinely looking forward to reading the second book in the series, Onyx.

Again, thanks for reading!!!

Leave a Reply

Larral loves books 

And The Authors That Write Them

Reading Writing and Book Reviews

Get Your Romance Read On

Beaus and Bows

Beauty, Lifestyle, Fashion, and Bows

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Author Kim Black

Erotic Romance Writer

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

More Than Skin Deep.

Raising Awareness For Self-Harm& Inspiration For Those In Recovery.

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

~Snarky Bloggers~

Just some girls with no brain to mouth filter, spewing their opinions onto the unsuspecting souls who find themselves in their dungeon of sarcasm.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

mishrapiyush

black swan fooled by randomness

ellisnelson

children's author

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

